Long-Term Outcomes and Valve Performance in Patients Undergoing Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation.

Transcatheter aortic valve implantation (TAVI) is an established method for treating patients with aortic valve stenosis. We sought to determine the long-term clinical outcomes and performance of a self-expanding bioprosthesis beyond 5 years. Consecutive patients scheduled for TAVI were included in the analysis. Primary end points were all-cause and cardiovascular mortality, structural valve deterioration (SVD) and bioprosthetic valve failure (BVF), based on the VARC-2 criteria and consensus statement by ESC/EAPCI. The study prospectively evaluated 273 patients (80.61±7.00 years old, 47% females) who underwent TAVI with CoreValve/Evolut-R (Medtronic Inc.). The median follow-up duration was 5 years (interquartile range: 2,9 - 6; longest: 8 years). At 1, 5, and 8 years, estimated survival rates were 89.0%, 61.1%, and 56.0%, respectively, while cardiovascular mortality was 8% at the end of follow-up. Regarding valve performance, 5% of patients had early BVF and 1% had late BVF. Concerning SVD, 16 patients (6% of the total population) had moderate SVD (91% had an increase in mean gradient), with no severe SVD cases. Five patients with SVD died during follow-up. Actual analysis of the 8-year cumulative incidence of function of moderate SVD was 5.9% (2.5-16.2%). At multivariate analysis, the factor that emerged as an independent predictor for future SVD, was smaller bioprosthetic valve size (HR 0.58, 95%CI 0.41-0.82, p<0.002). Long-term evaluation beyond 5 years after TAVI with a self-expanding bioprosthesis demonstrated low rates of cardiovascular mortality and structural valve deterioration. Valve size was an independent predictor for SVD.

View the full article @ The American Journal of Cardiology

Get PDF with LibKey
Authors: Konstantinos Stathogiannis, Andreas Synetos, George Latsios, Antonios Karanasos, George Trantalis, Pantelis Toskas, Maria Drakopoulou, Maria Xanthopoulou, Maria Karmpalioti, Chryssa Simopoulou, Stergios Soulaidopoulos, George Oikonomou, Georgios Benetos, Sotirios Tsalamandris, Ilias Kosmas, Vasilis Voudris, Antonios Mastrokostopoulos, George Katsimagklis, Panos Halvatsiotis, Spyridon Deftereos, Costas Tsioufis, Konstantinos Toutouzas