Electrophysiological Study-Guided Permanent Pacemaker Implantation In Patients With Conduction Disturbances Following Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation.

Conduction disturbances remain common following transcatheter aortic valve implantation (TAVI). Aside from high-degree atrioventricular block (HAVB), their optimal management remains elusive. Invasive electrophysiological studies (EPS) may help stratify patients at low or high risk of HAVB allowing for an early discharge or permanent pacemaker (PPM) implantation among patients with conduction disturbances. We evaluated the safety and diagnostic performances of an EPS-guided PPM implantation strategy among TAVI recipients with conduction disturbances not representing absolute indications for PPM. All patients who underwent TAVI at a single expert center from June 2017 to July 2020 who underwent an EPS during the index hospitalization were included in the present study. False negative outcomes were defined as patients discharged without PPM implantation who required PPM for HAVB within 6 months of the initial EPS. False positive outcomes were defined as patients discharged with a PPM with a ventricular pacing percentage < 1% at follow-up. A total of 78 patients were included (median age: 82.4 years, 38% female), among whom 35 patients (45%) received a PPM following EPS. The sensitivity, specificity, positive and negative predictive values of the EPS-guided PPM implantation strategy were 100%, 89.6%, 81.5%, and 100%, respectively. Six patients suffered a mechanical HAVB during EPS and received a PPM. These 6 patients showed PPM dependency at follow-up. In conclusion, an EPS-guided PPM implantation strategy for managing post-TAVI conduction disturbances appears effective to identify patients who can be safely discharged without PPM implantation.

View the full article @ The American Journal of Cardiology

Get PDF with LibKey
Authors: Hamed Bourenane, Vincent Galand, Dominique Boulmier, Christophe Leclercq, Guillaume Leurent, Marc Bedossa, Nathalie Behar, Camille Pichard, Baptiste Polin, Jacques Tomasi, Jean-Philippe Verhoye, Sam Sharobeem, Marielle Le Guellec, Erwan Donal, Dominique Pavin, Raphael P Martins, Hervé Le Breton, Vincent Auffret