Adipose Tissue Insulin Resistance Is Longitudinally Associated With Adipose Tissue Dysfunction, Circulating Lipids, and Dysglycemia: The PROMISE Cohort.

Like Comment
To determine the association of adipose tissue insulin resistance with longitudinal changes in biomarkers of adipose tissue function, circulating lipids, and dysglycemia.Adults at risk for type 2 diabetes in the Prospective Metabolism and Islet Cell Evaluation (PROMISE) cohort had up to four assessments over 9 years (n = 468). Adipose tissue insulin resistance was determined using a novel validated index, Adipo-IR, calculated as the product of fasting insulin and nonesterified fatty acids measured at baseline. Fasting serum was used to measure biomarkers of adipose tissue function (adiponectin and soluble CD163 [sCD163]), circulating lipids (total cholesterol, HDL, LDL, triglyceride [TG]), and systemic inflammation (interleukin-6 [IL-6] and tumor necrosis factor-α [TNF-α]). Incident dysglycemia was defined as the onset of impaired fasting glucose, impaired glucose tolerance, or type 2 diabetes at follow-up. Generalized estimating equation (GEE) models were used to assess the relationship of Adipo-IR with longitudinal outcomes.GEE analyses showed that elevated Adipo-IR was longitudinally associated with adipose tissue dysfunction (adiponectin -4.20% [95% CI -6.40 to -1.95]; sCD163 4.36% [1.73-7.06], HDL -3.87% [-5.15 to -2.57], TG 9.26% [5.01-13.69]). Adipo-IR was associated with increased risk of incident dysglycemia (odds ratio 1.59 [95% CI 1.09-2.31] per SD increase). Associations remained significant after adjustment for waist circumference and surrogate indices for insulin resistance. There were no significant longitudinal associations of Adipo-IR with IL-6, TNF-α, total cholesterol, or LDL.Our findings demonstrate that adipose tissue insulin resistance is prospectively associated with adipose tissue function, HDL, TG, and incident dysglycemia.

View the full article @ Diabetes care

Get PDF with LibKey
Authors: Zhila Semnani-Azad, Philip W Connelly, Richard P Bazinet, Ravi Retnakaran, David J A Jenkins, Stewart B Harris, Bernard Zinman, Anthony J Hanley


The wider, wiser view for healthcare professionals. ClinOwl signposts the latest clinical content from over 100 leading medical journals.
6577 Contributions
0 Following