RCGP president elections launched

Author: Adrian O'Dowd
RCGP president elections launched

The Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) has unveiled seven candidates who are standing to succeed Professor Mayur Lakhani as the college’s next president when he leaves office after his two-year term in November.

The seven candidates who are contesting the seat are:

  • Professor Rodger Charlton – professor of Undergraduate Primary Care at the University of Leicester and GP partner and trainer in Solihull
  • Dr John Chisholm – RCGP nationally-elected council member, deputy chair of the RCGP Trustee Board and vice-president of the British Medical Association
  • Dr Sunil Gupta – RCGP council member, MRCGP examiner, GP trainer and GP in Essex
  • Professor Amanda Howe – immediate past-president of the World Organisation of Family Doctors, professor of Primary Care at the University of East Anglia and RCGP East Anglia Faculty Provost
  • Professor Roger Jones – editor of the British Journal of General Practice and emeritus professor of General Practice at Kings College London
  • Dr Imran Rafi – former medical director of the RCGP’s Clinical Innovation and Research Centre, senior lecturer in Primary Care Education at St George’s University of London and GP in Surrey
  • Dr Carter Singh – GP partner in Nottinghamshire, RCGP Vale of Trent Faculty Board member, Nottinghamshire Local Medical Committee member.

The post of RCGP president is the ceremonial head of the college, but without executive powers, while the college’s chair, currently Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, leads on strategic direction and policy at the organisation.

Voting opened yesterday and will close at noon on Friday, 31 May.

All college members and fellows in good standing – including associates in training - are eligible to vote in the election, which will be conducted officially and independently by the Electoral Reform Services.

Voting is also open for six nationally-elected council member places, which will become vacant from November 2019. The six successful candidates will sit for three years.

This year, 19 GPs have put themselves forward for these seats. They are Dr Kirsty Alexander, Dr Neil Bhadresha, Dr Richard Byng, Dr Kathryn Carey-Jones, Dr Hisham Haq, Dr Lucy Henshall, Dr Haider Hussain, Dr Abrar Ibrahim, Dr Chandra Kanneganti, Dr Margaret McCartney, Dr Sheila Pietersen, Dr Bashir Qureshi, Dr Imran Rafi, Dr Joanne Reeve, Dr Jonathan Serjeant, Dr Catherine Tichler, Dr Caroline Watson, Dr Jane Wilcock, and Dr Jill Wilson.

Professor Stokes-Lampard said: “Thank you to everyone who has put themselves forward for college office. Our candidates are all respected GPs with a wide variety of skills, experience, and knowledge that will stand them in good stead for the roles, and I wish you all the very best of luck.

“Getting involved in the college should be encouraged at every stage of a GP’s career, and I’m thrilled to see so many colleagues wanting to take up what are challenging, but hugely satisfying roles.”

Video election statements from all the presidential candidates’ can be viewed here.